Yaki Soba…..my version!

I haven’t been feeling very well over the past few days and my healthy new year has succumbed to plenty of comfort food and cups of tea. 
As you will have noticed my menus this week have consisted of pies and my usual favourite happy dish of Vietnamese Salmon Salad.
Today I was craving Yaki Soba – hot with ginger and chilli, sweet with the yakisoba sauce and toasty with sesame packed full of nutritious veggies and protein fill of chicken. Goodness knows why this dish popped into my head as I haven’t had it in ages but once my mind was made up, off I trekked around Toots (wrapped up in two jumpers, scarf, hat and coat!) in search of sesame oil! Who would have thought it would be so hard to come by!
I researched a few recipes and they were all so different I just decided to make one up – yakisoba and yakiudon mean wok fried noodles so I figured I would just try the main yakisoba flavours add in a mixture of veggies and chicken and hope for the best!

Serves 2
Sesame Oil
1 Chicken Breast – thinly sliced
2 Portabello Mushrooms – sliced
2cm Ginger grated
2 Spring Onions – sliced
1/2 a Red Chilli – sliced
2 Handfuls of Spinach
1/4 Cauliflower cut into small florets
1/4 Brocolli cut into small florets
1tbsp Worcestershire Sauce
1tbsp Soy Sauce
1tsp Oyster Sauce
1tbsp Mirin
1/2 tsp Sugar
2 Nests of Buckwheat Noodles (either soba or udon)

Begin by cooking the noodles to instructions – should take 5-7 minutes.
I heated 2tbsp sesame oil in a large frying pan and seal the chicken, once beginning to caramelise add the mushrooms, spring onions, chilli, brocolli and cauliflower. As everything softens and cooks stir in the ginger and allow to infuse. Mix in the elements of the sauces and add sugar at the end to taste.
Finally scatter the spinach and mix together. Depending on how you like stir frys amend the dish as you like, for extra sweetness add more oyster sauce, for more kick be more generous with the chilli and ginger etc. The quantities above give a kick of heat with a good balance of sweet, salt and spice.
Once all is incorporated, add the noodles in and fry all together.
Serve with any accompaniment you wish, more chilli sauce, an egg, pickled ginger, beansprouts or just on its own!
Enjoy!

  

Leave a Reply

