Get us to the…10 GREEK St

I LOVE going out for dinner with my friend Zoe. Our food experiences are mixed to say the least ranging from snails and the Taste London festival to Deep Fried Mars Bars in Malaysia, from our first sushi experience in Tokyo to all-you-can-eat Chinese challenges during our student days at Bristol University. Zoe will always join me in trying new food – no matter how weird and wonderful and, like me has a big appetite (although you wouldnt know it as she is a skinny minnie)! She introduced me to rare steak when i had previously only tasted my mum’s well done efforts and has made me the best ever Roast Potatoes iv tasted (Easter Sunday 2013 – a Jamie recipe I believe). To discuss our upcoming holiday plans (we settled on Panama and we are very excited) we went to 10 Greek St in Soho (again, a recommendation from Elix) and boy were we in for a treat. As soon as the bread basket arrived containing onion and rosemary focaccia and wholemeal crusty loaf we were both in love. Both types of bread we so flavourful and soft complemented by crispy flakes of sea salt on top, we made use of the olive oil and must have been so over-excited that the waiter promptly brought over a second basket. TREAT! We ordered a carafe of house red wine and some water (which came in a lovely little milk bottle!) – the red wine was a 2011 Borgo Selene from Sicily and was really lovely – it went well with both our starters and main course – it was delicate and extremely tasty.

We ordered a couple of sharing dishes to start, padron peppers and chilli and garlic prawns. The peppers were charred and juicy, we promptly devoured each and every one – the slightly bitter taste of the outside was perfectly complemented by the sweet juice popping from the inside with the first bite. The prawns were delicious – i like to eat the crispy prawn tails (my friends dont share the same taste as me here but Matt Preston on Masterchef Australia does it and so do I!) – the chilli and garlic taste was well balanced with just the right kick of heat matched with a subtle flavour of lemon juice and parsley shreds. We both ordered seared lamb with baby beetroot, jersey royals and anchovy cream. Any dish with anchovies AND beetroot is a winner for me and Zoe didnt want food envy so we agreed to get the same dish. The jersey royals were crispy on the outside and fluffy and creamy in the middle – i think that they had been sprinkled with some sort of black pepper/cayenne mixture before they were cooked as they had an extra special peppery taste. The anchovy cream was delicate and the ideal complement to the lamb which was served on the rare side of medium rare. Anyone who knows me and Zoe will not be surprised to know that we demolished the entire dish and were extremely content at the end – so much so we were too full for dessert! Shocker!

I will definitely go back to 10 Greek Street – the food, atmosphere and service were all perfect – much better than when Zo and I used to go to the all-you-can-eat Chinese buffet in Bristol – I think our taste buds (and us!) are more sophisticated than the old days when we made everything we ate into a challenge (I hold the record for the most fried mars bars eaten and we drew a tie on the all-you-can-eat-Chinese-challenge).

Im sure Zo will pop up in my blog a lot more as she is my adventurous eating buddie – always willing to try whatever and wherever with me – the ideal company for a greedy blogger like myself – watch out Panama – we are coming to eat you!

ImageImageImage

One thought on “Get us to the…10 GREEK St

  1. Zoe Smith

    An excellent right up beaut! It was a delicious meal (well done Elix for the recommendation) and I hope to join you on many food adventures ahead 🙂 z x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

